48Days.NET

top page logo

Your place for community & resources to find or create work you love

We are so glad you're here and ready to take the next step! We created 48days.net as a place for community. For people to encourage each other and help each other in finding or creating work that is meaningful.

But frankly, we've outgrown it, so we're moving to provide you new resources.

48Days.net will be closing as it is today on November 30, 2017. Until then current members can click the button below to access groups and resources.

If you're new to 48days.net, connect here for a close up look at our thriving 48 Days Eagles Community and to get weekly free resources and motivation as you find and create work you love.

Essential FAQs on DUI Charges in Texas

It is a startling fact that in Texas, someone every 20 minutes is injured or killed in a car accident caused due to the driver being under the influence of alcohol. Since it is impossible to predict how your body will respond to alcohol intake, and when you would cross the permissible limits, it is best for drivers to completely abstain from consuming alcohol if they are planning to drive. The applicable laws of Texas are also framed in such a manner so as to offer the maximum discouragement to DUI offenses by way of fines, penalties, and award of costs. In Texas, if you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or above and are driving a motor vehicle, you can be arrested and charged. The law is so strict that you can even be fined $500 for having an alcohol container that is open in a vehicle even if you are just a passenger. Due to the many complexities involved in the interpretation of DUI laws, many people may not know how to react to a DUI charge. Some essential FAQs:

Is Pleading Guilty to a DUI Charge in Texas the Best Option?

It is never a good policy to automatically plead guilty to a DUI charge. Take the time given to you to consult a competent attorney who is proficient in fighting DUI cases in Texas. This will give you a chance to explore the possibility of mounting a calculated defense that can get the charge dismissed or the fines and penalties reduced to the extent possible. An automatic plea of guilt would strip you of this opportunity.

What Are the Consequences of Losing the DUI Case or Pleading Guilty to a DUI Charge?

If your BAC is found to be over 0.08 or if you refuse to undergo a BAC test, you are liable for very grave consequences if you are convicted. These may include a criminal conviction that stays with you for life, suspension of your driver’s license, monetary fines, penalties and costs, higher insurance premium, the cost of an ignition interlock system, denial of entry into certain countries like Canada and even difficulty in retaining or getting employment.

Is It Possible to Content and Win a DUI Case in Texas?

While no prediction can ever be made of the results in legal matters, it is clearly established that consulting an experienced and competent legal representativesuch as Jim Butler's firm that is conversant with the DUI laws of Texas is a good strategy for contesting your DUI charge. An experienced DUI attorney who is good in his work will be able to share with you his record of getting a large number of conviction dismissals or plea bargains that can substantially reduce your punishment. Depending on the facts of the case, it would not be unusual for a good DUI lawyer to even get you a full acquittal, which means that you would stand fully absolved and be declared innocent. If a win does not seem possible, your lawyer may even suggest to plea bargain with the intention of reducing the extent of the consequences of the charge.

How Much Does It Cost to Fight a DUI Case in Texas/

There are no fixed costs for contesting DUI charges in court as the time and effort that need to be spent depend on the facts of the case as well as the complexity involved in proving the facts of the case. However, almost every attorney firm will offer clients a complimentary assessment of the charge that will indicate how much they expect that the case will cost to fight in the court. The good thing is that you are likely to get flexible payment and financing options that can help you to afford the court case. Given the seriousness of DUI charge, it is always advisable for you to take the help of qualified lawyers to represent you in the court.

Conclusion

Getting charged for a DUI offense is not something that can be taken lightly. If convicted, it is likely to cost you substantially in monetary terms as well as in terms of damage to your record and reputation that can prevent you from taking advantage of many opportunities in life. If you are facing a DUI charge, you need to immediately hire the best lawyer you can afford so that you are able to minimize the potential damages.

Views: 25

Comment

You need to be a member of 48Days.NET to add comments!

Join 48Days.NET

Coaching Mastery Program

Interested in being a 48 Days Certified Coach?  Check out our elite program here:

Check it out!

Follow 48 Days:

Have a question or want to connect? Enter in some keywords here to see what we're already saying!

Interested in the next step beyond this community - with more hands-on interaction with Dan and other 48 Days Mentors? Check out our new membership site!

Weekly Podcast

Hosted by Dan Miller

Good stuff from 48days

Sign up for the FREE weekly 48 Days Newsletter HERE
Check out Dan's 
daily blog and 
free worksheets
Get the 48 Days App!


 


Have a question or want to connect? Enter in some keywords here to see what we're already saying!

 

© 2017   Created by Jon Dale.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service